Community Day Locations

Community Day is a weekly instructional program for California Virtual Academy students. The program meets weekly at locations throughout the state. Students receive instruction from California Virtual Academy teachers in the areas of math, English-language arts, and science as well as participate in many other educational and engaging activities. There are opportunities for parents to connect through volunteering, CAVA Close-ups, and parent trainings. All students attending Community Day will be assigned to the class list of a Community Day teacher.

We have a program specifically for CAVA high school students at many Community Day locations.

If you have questions or would like to register for Community Day, please email the coordinator of the site you are interested in, or CDinfo@caliva.org.

2016–2017 Community Day Locations and Contact Information

Bakersfield: K–8 
Grace Baptist Church
Meets on Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30–1:00
For information email cbeard@caliva.org

Burbank: K–8 & High School
Worship Walk Church
Meets on Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30–1:00
For information email Dina Harney dharney@caliva.org

Downey: K–8 & High School
First Christian Church—Downey
Meets on Tuesdays 10:00–1:30
For information email Shelly Pocinich spocinich@caliva.org

Fountain Valley: K–8 & High School
Beachpoint Church
Meets on Tuesdays 9:00–12:30
For information email Lisa Rigsbee lrigsbee@caliva.org

Glendora: K–8 & High School
Glendora Community Church of the Nazarene
Meets on Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:30–1:00
For information email mising@caliva.org

Hesperia: K–8
The Rock-Hesperia
Meets on Tuesdays 9:30–1:00
For information email Wendy Chambers wchambers@caliva.org

Lancaster: K–8
Growing Valley Baptist Church
Meets on Wednesdays 9:00–12:30
For information email kdorroh@caliva.org

Lodi: K–8 & High School
United Congregational Church
Meets on Tuesdays 10:00–1:30
For information email Kristi Scherzinger kscherzinger@caliva.org

Redlands: K–8 & High School
The Ark—Redlands Church of the Nazarene
Meets on Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:15–12:45
For information email Sarah Vigrass svigrass@caliva.org

San Marcos: K–8 & High School
Boys and Girls Club of San Marcos
Meets on Tuesdays 9:30–1:00
For information email Sharon Trom strom@caliva.org

Santa Rosa: K–8
New Vintage Church
Meets on Tuesdays and Thursdays 9:00–12:30
For information email Pamela Gandy pgandy@caliva.org

Simi Valley: K–8 & High School
Newheart Foursquare Church
Meets on Tuesdays 9:30–1:00
For information email Megan Miller mmiller@caliva.org

There is no discrimination in the admission of students to a CAVA school or the CAVA Community Day program on the basis of race, religion, color, disability or gender. CAVA provides a tuition-free, public school education to all of its students. All students, however, need to be able to meet the enrollment requirements.

*Students participating in Community Day must be compliant with SB 277. 

Families do not pay tuition for a student to attend an online public school. Common household items and office supplies like printer ink and paper are not provided. Our enrollment consultants can help address your technological and computer questions and needs.